Employee of the Year

Exceeding Expectations

Above from left: General Manager, Gregory Orsini; Director, John Corbett; Utility Person II, Chris Jones; Board President, Dennis Mayo; Director, George Wheeler at the January 4, 2017 Board of Directors' Meeting

Each year, McKinleyville Community Services District (MCSD) employees vote for Employee of the Year. This award and recognition

was started by Norman Shopay in 2009 and has been continued due to overwhelming staff support. The Employee of the Year is chosen through a secret ballot by their peers and judged on merit of the employee’s contributions to MCSD.

The Employee of the Year must be a person who has brought about significant positive change, one who eliminates obstacles in achieving District goals and objectives, is resourceful, contributes constructively, innovates, exceeds expectations, inspires others, and proactively identifies and resolves challenges.

The 2016 Employee of the Year honor was awarded to Chris Jones, who truly exemplifies the qualifications required. Chris can be counted on to put forth effort beyond standards and his positive demeanor is valued by his supervisor and management.

Chris’ first day of work for the District was April 21st, 2004. He was hired as a Utility Maintenance Worker, and a year later was promoted to Utility Person I. In May 2009, Chris was promoted to Utility Person II. He is known throughout the District for his pranks and personable character and exhibits a “win-win” philosophy day to day.

Chris will hold this distinction for the 2017 calendar year, and a new Employee of the Year will be chosen at the end of 2017.

Previous Year's Recipients:

2015 - Diane Sloane, Human Resources & Payroll Manager

2014 - David Baldosser, Customer Service Supervisor

2013 - Bill McBroome, Utility Person II

2012 - Lesley Frisbee, Recreation Director

2011 - James Henry, Operations Director

2010 - Tony Rutten, Maintenance Supervisor

2009 - Sharon Denison, Board Secretary